Alumni of the Year

For the past 22 years, the Distinguished Alumni Award has recognized outstanding alumni who are committed to the goals and objectives of the Bishop McGuinness community. 

You may nominate as many outstanding alumni as you wish. We just ask that the nominees have served the school, their church and/or community well during their postgraduate time. The 2021 Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented in May during graduation. If you have any questions about nominations, please contact Carly Wegener, Alumni Executive Committee President.


Lisa Ruffin Edmonds ’82 and Bentley Edmonds ‘81 have been selected as the 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients. They will be recognized during the graduation livestream on June 16.

Lisa and Bentley are excellent examples of combined dedication to Catholic education, community and faith that act as one. Products of Catholic education at all levels, they both graduated from Bishop John Carroll School and Bishop McGuinness, as well as Catholic colleges. They remain connected to their alma maters and have maintained enduring friendships. This tradition has continued with their four children who also attended Bishop John Carroll and Bishop McGuinness – their youngest will graduate from Bishop McGuinness next year.

Those experiences have grounded them in the Catholic faith and supported their involvement in the Catholic community. They are visible at Bishop McGuinness athletic and fine arts events, even those that don’t involve their children. As second generation parishioners at Our Lady’s Cathedral, Lisa and Bentley welcome friends and strangers into their circle. They frequently open their home for Bishop McGuinness student and parent gatherings, as well as newcomers serving in Oklahoma City through ministries like the Alliance for Catholic Education teachers and the National Evangelization Team.

Together, Lisa and Bentley most certainly exemplify the Bishop McGuinness Catholic High School mission statement: to be a person for others.

Award Recipients
1999    Fr. William M. Eichhoff ’56 
1999    Larry Shaw ’55
2000    Linda Cavanaugh Clark ’70
2001    Greg Burns ’65
2002    Dr. Louis V. Lepak, Jr. ’61
2002    Dr. William H. Bernauer ’65
2003    William R. Cathey ’76
2004    Judy McCarthy Love ’55
2005    Michael J. Milligan ’73
2006    Jerry Kelley ’70
2007    Tom Ward ’65
2008    Rear Admiral Greg Slavonic ’67, U.S. Navy
2009    Dr. J. Peter Kierl ’72
2010    James A. Connelly, Jr. ’73
2010    Jack  O’Meara ’66
2011    Lil Ross ’56
2012    Fr. Joseph Uhen ’76
2013    David Riesenberg ’75
2014    Carol Scanlon Lester ’74
2015    Richard Tuohy ’69
2016    Chris Engel ’78
2017    Greg Love ’80
2018    Amy Feighny ’86
2019    Ryan Maxwell ’98
2020    Bentley Edmonds ’81
2020    Lisa Ruffin Edmonds ’82